Cherish…what does that mean?!

I am currently on a journey through a book entitled Cherish (by Gary Thomas). I’ve had the privilege of reading others of his books, including Sacred Marriage and Sacred Influence. I highly recommend any of these!

I have been so very challenged in the reading of this book, and I’ve really just started!

Cherish. What most of us promise when we made our wedding vows. But do we really know what it means? Do we stop and take time to cherish our spouse?

A definition given in this book for the word cherish is this: to go out of our way to notice someone, appreciate someone, honor someone, and hold someone dear.

And, a direct quote, from this book “God is more than capable of teaching us and empowering us to treat and cherish our spouses the way he treats and cherishes us.”

So. NO excuses—I may not know much about cherishing, I may not understand it, and I most certainly cannot do it on my own strength, but God will be with me every step of the way!

Another phrase from the book. “Through the biblical act of cherishing, we can empower our spouses to become who they are called by God to be, and in the process to become more of who we are called to be, creating a marriage that feels more precious, more connected, and more satisfying.

Cherishing my spouse means lifting him up, doing what I can to make him look better, be better, be more of who God designed him to be. Maybe even helping him realize a part of himself that he doesn’t really know yet.

The more you cherish someone, the more joy you get out of your marriage. When you get your highest joy by giving your spouse joy, marriage takes off.”

This is only scratching the surface. I’m only ready for Chapter 4. And WOW—do I have a lot to learn! My prayer is that I would let myself be teachable through the reading of this book, so that I can cherish my husband as God wants me to.

Marriage really is designed to be a picture of God and His Bride. Which means we need to be in it for the long haul, this thing called life. God will carry us through, not only the good times, but also those not-so-good times. If we let Him, He can make us stronger, make our marriage stronger, and make our relationship with Him stronger, because of those times…

Thoughts? Comments? I’d love to hear from you! And if you’d rather email (or PM) than comment here, that’s fine too.

3 thoughts on “Cherish…what does that mean?!”

  1. My marriage has been in a downward spiral for an extremely long time. I am trying to be in this marriage for the “long haul”. I agree that God has made me stronger and my relationship with Him stronger. However, it is SO difficult to cherish a husband who has such a hardened heart. I have prayed for God to soften his heart. I know God answers prayers in His time. It’s very difficult.

Leave a Reply

