Author Interview

Hi! Today I have an interview with a new author about her brand new book!

Join me in welcoming Lydia Howe and her book Where Dandelions Grow

untitled-46

Hi Lydia, tell me about yourself

Hello! I’m Lydia Howe, a random, quirky, traveling, bookwormish, country gal. I live out where fireflies dance over hayfields, whippoorwills serenade me to sleep, stars wink, and old barn are just waiting to be explored. 

 

Reading, cooking, traveling, cutting grass, and writing (books, blog posts, emails, etc…) take up a fair amount of my time. I also have a delightful time fitting in with the third and fourth grade kids at church as their Sunday School teacher’s assistant. (The jury’s still out as to if I’m good at relating to that age group because I’m adaptable or if it’s because I’m so much like them myself.) 

Tell me about your family (do you have siblings, where are you in the lineup?) or if you’re married or in a relationship, tell us about that! 🙂

This is the first time I’ve gotten this question in this round of interviews. 🙂 I’m currently quite contentedly single and living at home where I work with my family’s business part-time, a coffee shop part-time, and writing part-time. I have nine siblings and am the seventh child – although I’m the oldest at home. I have over a dozen nieces and nephews, but (sadly!) only one of them lives close by. 

How did you decide to write this story?

The story popped into my head one day, strangely enough as names of four cousins. Over the next several days I just kept repeating Destiny, Kamryn, Lexie, and Teal over and over in my brain as I went about life, and the rest of the story emerged. 

Are you writing more?

As in a second book in the same series? I’m not sure, although originally my plan was to write a book for each of the cousins. As for writing in general, I’m currently working on a realistic fantasy book titled Echoes. 

What are your plans for the future?

A life-long dream of mine is to travel across the USA in a motor home, hopefully blogging and vlogging as I go. I’ve always seen being a writer as a life-long career, and plan to continue along with that, along with wherever else God takes me in life. Plus, getting married and being a (mostly) stay-at-home mom has always been a goal. In recent years the idea of starting a bookstore/cafe/coffee shop has sounded like a lot of fun. 

What is your favorite food?

Oh! There’s a lot of food that I really like (as someone whose job is to cook that’s probably pretty natural). I especially like food from different countries – like Tikka Masala from India. (You should look it up, it’s delicious!) 

Your favorite place?

I’ve traveled a lot over the years and therefore have various “favorite” places – like my home (Best. Place. Ever.), the Creation Museum, a certain beach house in Mexico, a delightfully cozy garden in England, and, well, the list goes on. 

If you could travel anywhere in the world, where would you like to go?

New Zealand, Australia, Alaska, and Ireland are currently on the top of my list. (I narrowed it down nicely, don’t I?)

Thanks so much, Lydia, for answering these questions! I’ve enjoyed chatting & getting to know you a little bit! 

Thank you so much for inviting me onto your blog. I had fun answering your questions – in fact, they’re some of the most fun ones to answer that I’ve had yet!

untitled-45

Lydia's Author PictureAbout the Author:

Lydia Howe (aka Aidyl Ewoh) is a twenty-something adventurous author who is partial to hiking in the mountains of Asia and South America, building life-size models of dinosaurs, taking road trips across Europe, visiting friends in Africa, growing up in a barn and everything in-between. She currently works in a coffee shop during the day and concocts stories by night. Find her online at her Blog, YoutubeFacebookTwitterGoodreads, and Google+

 

Links for the book: 
Goodreads Linkhttps://www.goodreads.com/book/show/35969327-where-dandelions-grow?from_search=true
Amazon Link:https://www.amazon.com/Where-Dandelions-Grow-Lydia-Howe-ebook/dp/B0753JSDBS/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1505831056&sr=1-1&keywords=Where+Dandelions+Grow

And here’s my review:

This is a sweet, short story, especially written for young girls.

Destiny is looking for answers. Answers to the many questions swirling through her head, in particular, answers to WHY she & her family were abruptly pulled away from their hometown, the only home they knew, and most of all, their beloved cousins. And were not allowed to have any contact with them for over 10 years.
She leaves home and heads back to that hometown, in hopes of reuniting with those cousins.

This is a story of forgiveness, love, and more.
A great story for girls to read, one I’ve recommended to my own daughters. (One of them sat down and read a large share of the book tonight-I think that means she liked it! 🙂 )
I was given an advance copy to review in exchange for my honest opinion.

1 thought on “Author Interview”

Leave a Reply

