NEW book giveaway!

Today I have the privilege of introducing you to a delightful new book, just released, by Dorcas Smucker! This book is a compilation of essays she wrote for her column in her local newspaper.

Back cover: When you’re responsible for a large, hungry, and ever-changing household that includes young adult children and their friends, elderly parents, and too many cats, it can all feel overwhelming. In these essays, Dorcas Smucker looks for, and finds, the joy hidden in everyday work and the blessings found when you embrace the life that showed up when you weren’t looking. Fragrant-Whiffs-COVER-only

The title “Fragrant Whiffs of Joy” is spot-on! Words that come to mind as I read this book—charming, refreshing, delightful, down-to-earth. Dorcas gives us many glimpses into her life as the wife of a Mennonite pastor. She offers bits & pieces of wisdom she’s gleaned over the years as they’ve raised their six children. She shows how to find blessings in the small things in life.

I am thoroughly enjoying my reading of this book! (I’m not quite through it yet) I had received a copy via email about a month ago, and started reading it that way. However, that is not my favorite way of reading a book, and I find it much harder to get through a book when I’m swiping pages on my kindle app on my iphone. Then when Dorcas said that she’d mailed out the paperback copies, I emailed her to see if it would be ok for me to wait & do this blog once I had her books in my hand. So we decided on a later date. Wouldn’t you know it, they arrived Wednesday! Shipped all the way from Oregon to central Ohio in two days!

And yes, you might have noticed that I said THEY…she so very generously shipped me not one, but THREE copies!! Which has added to my excitement! I get to keep one and read it. I have one to give to a friend that I think would enjoy it. And I have one more to give away here!! And…they are all autographed!

Have you had the privilege of speaking with Dorcas? I’ve never met her in person, but I have had the privilege of hearing her speak…last year, I think it was, she was a key-note speaker at a ladies’ retreat weekend, and I listened to all of her talks. I was so encouraged and challenged. I love how she lets God use her life to help others draw closer to Him.

Taken from the back cover: Dorcas Smucker is a Mennonite pastor’s wife and a mother of six who lives in a farmhouse in Oregon’s Willamette Valley. She has written a newspaper column for 17 years and is the author of six books.

I’d like to leave you with a few thoughts from this book, thoughts that I want to ponder on…

From a chapter on a day of rest: “Faith will always be both solid in its source and fluid in its application. We will always be adjusting for balance, and there will always be tension between individual and community priorities, between valuable old ways, and equally valid new ones, and between freedom and duty.”

From one on mothering: “We are not all called to be mothers, but we can all choose that essential selflessness of motherhood: the giving, the self-forgetful investing of our lives in others.  The maturity this choice requires reconciles us to the truth that much of our sacrifice won’t be appreciated until long after we’re gone. But after we’ve received that kind of loving involvement ourselves, we realize how immeasurably it mattered, and we are honored to pass it on.”

She writes about finding joy in a journey full of surprises. About finding peace amid a storm. About family. And friends. About life and living it to the fullest.  And love. And most importantly, of course, of following Jesus.

I’d love to send you an autographed paperback copy of this fragrantly delightful new book. Take a minute and sign up via the giveaway below.

If you’d like to order the book, contact Dorcas Smucker at 31148 Substation Drive, Harrisburg, OR 97446. Books are $12 each plus $2 postage. Checks or PayPal accepted. (dorcassmucker@gmail.com)

This book is now also available for purchase on Amazon!

She also has a blog that I enjoy reading, visit her at Life In the Shoe

Enter the Giveaway Here!

Edited to add: There have been some issues with this giveaway link. I thought I’d try doing it the professional way and use rafflecopter. There is the very real possibility that I might not have it linked  properly or something. When I go to do the drawing for the giveaway, I will include the name of everyone who left a comment on this blog post, as well as everyone who entered through the rafflecopter link. (if you did both, it will still only count as one entry) So…if you haven’t yet, PLEASE do enter the giveway!! 🙂

This giveaway is open through November 14th (closes at midnight)

Thanks for your patience as I try to make this work!

42 thoughts on “NEW book giveaway!”

  1. Sounds like a great book that I’d love to add to my library! I tried to enter through the giveaway engine, but wasn’t able to comment there.

    1. Sorry! I’m not sure what is going on with that, it’s my first attempt at using rafflecopter. 😦 If you’ve left a comment, you are also entered in the giveaway! Thanks for stopping by!

  2. I am not a blogging kind of person myself but I do enjoy reading others. I have borrowed one of Dorcas’ books from a friend of mine. I want to be entered into the drawing to win one . Thanks!

  3. She lives in near where I grew up, so not only do I love her stories, the details about Oregon make it all the better for me!

  4. I just recently discovered her blog and have enjoyed what I’ve read there. And her book titles are definitely attention getting! 🙂

Leave a Reply

