first line friday, Uncategorized

First Line Friday

Today, I give you a first line from an older book…I still have some library books here on my shelf. Books I’ve been wanting to read, and now I actually have time. Not to mention, the library books are here a bit indefinitely, because of how everything is in our world right now…

“A summons to the principal’s office had the same effect on me at twenty-seven as it did when I was seven, and seventeen.”

Secrets She Kept by Cathy Gohlke

 

51BDgt4R-7L

 

This book promises to be a very interesting read, and I can’t wait to get through it!

 

Now it’s your turn!

Grab the book nearest to you and leave a comment with the first line. To see what First Lines others are sharing this week head over to Hoarding Books.

 

13 thoughts on “First Line Friday”

  1. Need to get this one by Cathy Gohlke!

    My first line is from chapter 6 of One Hundred Valleys by Bonnie Leon:
    The Indians had kept moving, but Emmalin held on to the rifle.

  2. Happy Friday! My first line is from “Collateral Damage” by Lynette Eason:

    “Sergeant First Class Asher James stared at Captain Phillip Newell, sure that he’d heard wrong.”

  3. Happy Friday!
    On my blog I’m sharing from Being Known by Robin Jones Gunn. It’s such an EXCELLENT story. Currently, I’m reading Hadley Beckett’s Next Dish by Bethany Turner. I’m just getting into chapter 2 so I’ll share a line from there.
    “Meemaw? Are you home?”
    Hope you have a great weekend. Happy reading! 🙂

  4. My first line comes from Becky Wade’s Stay With Me — Like Papa Bear in the Goldilocks story, Sam Turner had discovered a strange woman sleeping in the bed of a home he owned.

    Have a wonderful weekend!

Leave a comment