Book Review, Contemporary

Book Review – ‘Til I Want No More

‘Til I Want No More

by Robin Pearson

When the man she loved years ago returns to town, one young woman’s complicated past rises again, threatening to expose her well-kept secrets.

If Maxine could put her finger on the moment when her life went into a tailspin, she would point back twenty years to the day her daddy died. She tells herself he’s the only person who ever really knew and loved her, and if he hadn’t left her behind, her future would’ve taken a different path. No absentee mother, no stepfather, no rebellious ripping and running during her teenage years. And no JD, who gave her wandering young heart a home, at least for a time.

But that’s over and done with. All grown-up now, Maxine has pledged her heart and ring finger to Theodore Charles, the man she’ll promise to love, honor, and obey in front of God and everybody. At least that’s what she’s telling anybody who will listen. The only folks buying it are the dog and the readers of her column, however. Her best friend and family aren’t having it―not even Celeste, the double bass–playing thirteen-year-old the community of Mount Laurel, North Carolina, believes is Maxine’s adopted sister. And apparently, neither is the newly returned JD, who seems intent on toppling Maxine’s reconstructed life. As her wedding day marches ever closer, Maxine confronts what it means to be really known and loved by examining what’s buried in her own heart and exposing truth that has never seen the light of day.

A Christian fiction novel with a poignant story of romance, a search for truth, and a journey to redemption. For fans of Chris Fabry, Lauren Denton, and Charles Martin.

My Thoughts

I loved the first book in this series, Long Time Comin’, and I knew I had to read this one. Robin Pearson has a way of writing stories that touch deep within.

This story really pulled at my heartstrings.
It’s one of those that you want to read, but you get so invested in, and you have this ‘feeling’ as to what’s coming that…you don’t want to read it. If that makes any sense!
Maxine had made somewhat of a mess of her life.
On the surface, it all looked so good. She was the perfect girl. Engaged to be married to Teddy, the perfect gentleman.
But, what about everything she’d been hiding for so long…and when JD comes back to town, she is no longer able to keep up the charade.

I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book, from beginning to end. Parts of it were hard to read. There were some really good thoughts, some really soul searching, challenging things to think about.
I really hope there will be another book in this series!
Disclaimer: I receive complimentary books from various sources, including, publishers, publicists, authors, and/or NetGalley. I am not required to write a positive review, and have not received any compensation. The opinions shared here are my own entirely.  I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s